Small Scale Development

This award recognises small-scale infill developments that integrate into existing neighbourhoods.

Our Sponsor

UDIA Small Scale Development Award Proudly Partnered by


This award recognises small-scale infill developments that integrate into existing neighbourhoods.

They should have a minimum of 3 dwellings and a maximum of 20 dwellings. Entries may in include town-houses and terrace homes.

Projects entered in this category must have a maximum height of three storeys. They must be predominantly residential (i.e. small lot housing, villas, town houses, terrace homes, row housing, apartment buildings); and may incorporate commercial / retail components.

Important Information

  • The winner of this award may have the opportunity to represent Victoria in the UDIA National Awards.
  • You must hold a developer level UDIA Victoria membership to enter your project into this category
  • It is required that your project must be substantially developed by the time of judging or at least a component or stage of the project is substantially developed.
  • If you have a residential component to your project, the judging panel will need to be given access to the interior of at least one dwelling.

Completion Criteria for UDIA Judging

To adequately judge an entry for the UDIA Awards for Excellence Program, entrants must provide to the Judging Panel sufficient evidence of the completion of a significant part of the project.

For example, single stage projects must show 40% of the development completed and sold or available for sale. Multistage projects must have at least one full stage completed and sold or available for sale, and other stages under development.


PART 1: Project Information

  • Key project information
  • Executive Summary (max 300 words) – this highlights the features of the development with reference to the award category criteria

PART 2: Supporting Materials

  • Project plans and maps
  • Press Releases and publicity requirements
  • 10 images of the project
  • Up to 10Project Consultants

PART 2: Category Criteria

  • Each award category features its own mix of the criteria along with their explanations which can be found below.
Urban Form15%
Community Creation & Integration15%
Environmental Sustainability5%
Innovation & Unique Features5%
Problem Solving, Consultation, Negotiation5%
State & Local Planning Objectives5%
Execution, Finishes & Inclusions10%
Housing Diversity5%
Marketing and Financial Structure5%
Judges’ Overall Impressions10%